Helen Hayes 2012 Award Recipients

The 28th Annual Helen Hayes Awards were announced, April 23, 2012 at the Warner Theatre.

Signature Theatre’s production of Hairspray brought home 5 awards, including Outstanding Resident Musical.

Film and stage legend, Kevin Spacey was honored with the Helen Hayes Tribute Award.

Photo by David "Ace" Livingston.

Outstanding Resident Play:  Ruined, Arena Stage

Outstanding Resident Musical: Hairspray, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Production, Theatre for Young Audiences: Charlotte’s Web, Adventure Theatre

Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Play: Erica Sullivan, Venus in Fur, Studio Theatre

Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Play: Rena Brown, Wit, Bay Theatre Company

The Robert Prosky Award for Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Play: Mitchell Hebert, After the Fall, Theatre J

Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Musical: Carolyn Cole, Hairspray, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Musical: Euan Morton, Parade, Ford’s Theatre and Theatre J

Outstanding Non-Resident Production: Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Arena Stage

Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Play: King Lear, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Musical: Hairspray, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Play: Gabriela Fernandez-Coffey, After the Fall, Theater J

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Resident Play: Ted van Griethuysen, Much Ado About Nothing, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Lead Actor, Non-Resident Production: Sahr Ngaujah, FELA!, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Lead Actress, Non-Resident Production: Cate Blanchett, Uncle Vanya, Kennedy Center

The John Aniello Award for Outstanding Emerging Theatre Company: Faction of Fools Theatre Company

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Musical: Nova Payton, Hairspray, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Supporting Performer, Non-Resident Production: Hugo Weaving, Uncle Vanya, Kennedy Center

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Resident Musical: Matthew Delorenzo, Pop!, Studio Theatre 2ndStage

Outstanding Costume Design, Resident Production: Kendra Rai, Green Bird, Constellation Theatre Company

Outstanding Choreography, Resident Production: Ben Cunis and Irina Tsikurishvili, King Lear, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Musical Direction, Resident Production: Jon Kalbfleisch, Hairspray, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Sound Design, Resident Production: Konstantine Lortkipanidze and Irakli Kavsadze , King Lear, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Sound Design, Resident Production: Chris Baine, A Bright New Boise, Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company

Outstanding Lighting Design, Resident Production: Andrew Griffin, King Lear, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Set Design, Resident Production: Lee Savage, Much Ado About Nothing, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Director, Resident Play: Aaron Posner, Cyrano, Folger Theatre

Outstanding Director, Resident Musical: Michael Baron, A Year With Frog and Toad, Adventure Theatre

The Charles MacArthur Award for Outstanding New Play or Musical: Marc Acito, Birds of a Feather, Hub Theatre

The Helen Hayes Tribute:  Kevin Spacey